Home Roasted Spicy Cashews

IMG-20150827-WA0008

I am proud to say that I am a dry fruit person! The biggest charm of winters in Pakistan is sitting in front of a gas heater with a big tray of assorted dry fruits. Its not winter season as yet but I have got cashews as a gift! My sisters has just returned from Gilgit which is located in extreme north of Pakistan and is known for its beautiful scenery and dry fruits. She brought cashews as a gift and along came a stream of nostalgic feelings!

I have had this opportunity to visit a lot of beautiful places in Pakistan due to my father’s army background. Gilgit is the place where I started my school! I have had this unique experience of eating cherries & figs, apricots & peaches and walnuts & almonds fresh from the trees, considered exotic for the people living down in other parts of Pakistan as the weather does not permit cultivation of these delicious fruits elsewhere in the country. So yes these cashews did bring a lot of forgotten memories with them!

Now lets get back to what this post is about! So I decided to roast these lovely cashews with some spicy seasoning but ended up doing spicy as well as plain salted as per my mom’s choice!

I want to mention that it was the first time that I was going to roast some nuts at home. So I took a lot of help from the internet. Soaking the nuts before roasting is one tip that I came across and I am happy that I soaked the nuts as it prevented the nuts from getting dry while roasting.

Lets have a look at the procedure!

  1. Put 2 cups of cashews in a bowl with salted hot water and left them soak for 30 minutes. 20150827_154603
  2. While cashews are soaking prepare your seasoning. Mix 1 tsp paprika powder, 1 tsp ground roasted cumin, 1 tsp chaat masala, 1/2 tsp turmeric powder and 1 1/2 tsp fine salt. Use this seasoning as needed. 20150827_153243
  3. After 30 minutes drain the water and spread the cashews on kitchen paper and pat dry.
  4. Preheat the oven at 180 degree C. Spread the cashews on greased baking tray or or on parchment paper. I put mine on greased foil. IMG-20150827-WA0016
  5. Bake for 20 minutes on 180 degree C. Stir the cashews twice during the baking to ensure even roasting. You can judge by the colour when they are done.
  6. When done spread the cashews on a parchment paper over cooling rack for about 6-8 minutes or until cool.
  7. If you use greased tray or foil then you don’t need to oil the cashwes. Just put them in a bowl and sprinkle the seasoning. Otherwise just put 1-2 tsp oil on cashews and mix so that all cashwes have a thin layer of grease then season. If you don’t like spicy then just sprinkle some fine salt and your munching snack is ready!

Tip:

Store in an air tight container.

IMG-20150827-WA0003

 

 

3 thoughts on “Home Roasted Spicy Cashews

  1. Awesome! I have never tried roasting dry fruits at home.. 🙂 I remembered the two huge packets of cashews my dad brought home last year and my struggles to finish them up 😉 finally I made cashew pakodas 😀

    Like

Would love to get your feedback!

