Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

IMG-20150830-WA0021

Here it is! A moist, sweet, cake-like quick bread with loads of banana flavour! This recipe is given to me by my sister. She bakes it beautifully while this is my first try at this bread. I was really worried about the final result but it turned out really well. Β As I was serving this bread with tea this morning I heard my brother saying to my mom that this cake is ‘wet’ πŸ™‚ I told him it is not wet but moist which means I have baked a just perfect banana bread! I can proudly say that this recipe is a keeper! So thank you big sis for this amazing recipe!

There are so many things that you can do with your banana bread. Of course you can eat it plain just the way it is πŸ™‚ but you can also have it with fresh banana slices and a mug of steaming hot coffee for a complete breakfast or you can make yummiest french toast with your banana bread or even a banana bread trifle!

So first things first! Always use ripe bananas for that perfect sweet banana flavour. I used the ones with dark brown spots. Ripe bananas give a delicious aroma and taste to the bread. I also used freshly ground cinnamon and nutmeg but u can use the bottled ones. Keep your life easy and simple! You can even omit these and use desiccated coconut if you lile. You can also use walnuts or raisins Β instead of chocolate chips. Its wonderful to adapt a recipe according to your own taste!

So here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

Unsalted butter 1/2 cup (room temperature)

Powdered sugar 1/2 cup

Eggs 2 (room temperature)

Yogurt 2 tbs (room temperature)

Bananas 3 (mashed)

All purpose flour 1 cup

Wheat flour (Aatta) 2/3 cup

Baking soda 1 tsp

Salt 1/4 tsp

Cinnamon powder 1/2 tsp

Nutmeg powder 1/4 tsp

Semi sweet chocolate chips 1/4 cup

Recipe:

  1. Cream butter and sugar at low speed. I used homemade fresh butter. If you are using salted butter then don’t put extra salt. IMG-20150829-WA0024
  2. Add eggs one at a time and keep beating.Β IMG-20150829-WA0020
  3. Add yogurt. Β IMG-20150829-WA0022
  4. Mix mashed bananas with a wooden spoon or spatula.Β IMG-20150829-WA0021
  5. Sift together dry ingredients and add to the banana mixture in three parts. Mix well with spatula. When mixed add chocolate chips and transfer the batter to greased loaf pan. I floured mine as well but realized later that it was a non stick pan anyway!Β IMG-20150829-WA0018

Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degree C for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Rest the pan on wire cooling rack for 10 minutes then take out and leave the bread on the wire rack until completely cooled down. Β wirerack

 

keep the bread refrigerated and use within 4-5 days or you can also freeze it for later use. Enjoy the bread as and when you like!

IMG-20150830-WA0025

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Love the pictures Vajeea! The bread looks great – I was once very actively tying out bread recipes. Your post is inspiring me to get back to my baking spree days πŸ™‚

    Like

Would love to get your feedback!

