Doughnuts

IMG-20151016-WA0039

It will not be an exaggeration if I say that doughnuts are undoubtedly the most loved confectionery item. I for one just love this not so sweet, light, fluffy and yummy goodness!

To be honest its been years since I last made doughnuts at home. My elder sister was very fond of cooking/baking and I remember that I used to help her in making a large batch of mini doughnuts when we were still in school. We used to store them in a big air tight container and munched on them for a whole week! I don’t remember those doughnuts going stale or soggy. That recipe required baking powder as the raising agent so maybe that’s the reason they lasted so many days. The texture was somewhat different from the donuts that we get from bakeries these days but they used to be so yummy nonetheless!

I had been wanting to make some doughnuts for quite some time now. I have some Instagram friends who came up with perfect looking donuts which inspired and motivated me to give them a try. I am following a recipe which uses yeast as the raising agent as we are so used to the yeast donuts from bakeries that anything different in the look and taste will land me in hot waters by my family who are the biggest critics of my cooking πŸ™‚

This recipe is a mixture of various recipes that I checked while looking for tips for perfect donuts. It makes about 12 doughnuts plus 12 balls.

Lets get to the recipe!

Ingredients:

All purpose flour 2 cups

Sugar 1/4 cup powdered

Yeast 2 tsp

Water Β 1/3

Milk 1/2 cup

Egg 1

Salt Β 1/2 tsp

Butter 1 1/2 tbs

Method:

  1. Mix Β water, milk, egg, sugar, yeast and salt in a bowl until sugar dissolves.Β IMG-20151016-WA0020
  2. Add this mixture to the sifted flour and knead into a dough for 5-6 minutes.Β IMG-20151016-WA0019
  3. Add butter and knead again for 2-3 minutes.Β IMG-20151016-WA0024
  4. Cover and leave the dough at a warm place for 1 hour.Β IMG-20151016-WA0017
  5. After an hour punch down the dough and rest again for another hour.Β IMG-20151016-WA0018
  6. Transfer the dough on floured surface and roll out into a 1/2 inch thick sheet and cut out the doughnuts using a doughnut cutter or any sharp edged circle such as a steel glass and any small circle for hole. keep the dough from holes for making doughnuts balls as kids will love them!Β IMG-20151016-WA0028
  7. Place the doughnuts on a floured sheet or butter/parchment paper and rest for 15-20 minutes to rise again. They are ready to be fried when they spring back slowly when touched with a finger. You can also place individual doughnuts on small pieces of parchment paper so that its easy to transfer them into the frying pan.Β IMG-20151016-WA0026
  8. Put about 1/2 inch of oil in a flat wide frying pan. Heat the oil to medium low and fry the doughnuts a few at a time. Turn over and cook from the other side when completely done from one side. The doughnuts turn golden very quickly so be careful. I totally forgot to take a picture of this step so pardon me πŸ™‚

Icing the doughnuts:

Sugar Doughnuts:

Put some fine sugar in a shallow dish and coat the doughnuts with sugar when they are still hot. Place the sugar coated doughnuts on a wire cooling rack to cool them off completely. You can also add cinnamon powder to the sugar if you like.

IMG-20151016-WA0015

Chocolate Glazed Doughnuts:

Mix 1/2 cup icing sugar, 1/4 cup cocoa powder and Β 2-3 tbs of milk in a bowl to make a smooth icing. it should not be too runny or too thick. Cool down the doughnuts before icing them otherwise it will melt. Half dip the doughnuts in icing and put them on wire cooling rack so that any excess icing drips down.

IMG-20151016-WA0008

Tips:

Doughnuts are best eaten fresh. They don’t last for more than 12 hours. Do not put them in a box or they will get soggy. Arrange them in single layer and cover with parchment paper. If in case you want to make in advance for some occasion then its advisable to freeze the doughnuts uncooked. Just defrost them and leave to proof until they get doubled and then proceed with rest of the procedure.

IMG-20151016-WA0011

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Doughnuts

    1. Thank you! I guess you would be able to comment from now on. Its a default setting that I have to approve the first comment πŸ™‚ so hopefully you won’t have any difficulty next time!

      Like

  1. Hi, if I am using self raising flour then what ll be the suitable quantity of yeast I should use for the donuts? BTW everyone in my house love donuts and ur recipe seem simple enough so I’m gonna try n make it at home.

    Like

  2. Hi these look yummy everyone in my house is a big fan of donuts, can u tell me if I use self raising flour then how much yeast I should use for this recipe?

    Like

Would love to get your feedback!

