Easy Chicken Pot Pie

20160106_135121

I have always been a huge fan of chicken pot pie. It is the simplest yet a very delicious food. The first pot pie that I ate was quite some years ago. It had layers of potato cubes, peas & chicken with white sauce in between and then topped with cheese and baked to a light golden colour. It was made by my khala. After that my elder sister replicated that dish quite a few times with an occasional treat of my khala’s own pie a few times. And then we forgot about the dish until recently when my sister mentioned the sublime taste of this pie. With that came all those forgotten memories and it got stuck in my head that I just have to make chicken pot and relish that lovely taste once again. And as you know I had to give it my own touch and make it super easy as well. I have to confess that even though I love to cook I just don’t like over-complicated and lengthy procedures.

So here is my version of easy peasy chicken pot pie! Instead of that cheesy top layer I have used a crust on top as it is originally done. Also instead of layering I have done a mixed filling because my serving was very small. It can easily be eaten by two!

Lets begin!

20160106_142412

Ingredients:

Chicken cubes (boiled) 1 cup (I used shredded chicken form my freezer but cubes make a nice appearance)

Onion 1 small cut into squares

Carrot chunks 1/3 cup

Potato 1 small cubed

Peas 1/3 cup

Butter 3 tbs

All purpose flour 3 tbs

Milk ½ cup

Salt & black pepper to taste

Dried thyme ½ tsp

Method:

For filling:

  1. Half boil peas, carrot and potato cubes and leave aside.

veggie7

  1. Fry onions in butter on medium heat until translucent.

20160106_124814

  1. Add boiled peas, carrots and potato and sauté quickly.

20160106_125023

  1. Add chicken and all purpose flour and cook for 2 minutes.

20160106_125157

  1. Add milk & seasonings and cook until everything combines. Your chicken and veggie filling is ready. Let it cool before putting the crust otherwise the crust will sink because of the steam.

20160106_125653

For pie crust:

You can use puff pastry sheets for the pie crust. I didn’t have that so I grabbed the next best thing which is spring roll wraps. Or you can make own pie crust from scratch which I didn’t want to make at this moment but will share with you next time!

I just put the roll wraps over one another in tree layers with a brushing of cooking oil in between. And then cut according to my pie dish size and slashed a few cuts to help steam escape while baking. As these wraps are already cooked so they won’t puff up like puff pastry does but the crust would be really crispy and crunchy nonetheless!

20160106_125749

Assembling the pie:

Put the filling in a baking dish or pie dish whatever you have available. Secure the crust over the dish with the help of flour and water mixture and give an egg wash with the help of a soft brush (egg & water).

20160106_130025

Baking:

Bake the pie for 10-15 minutes at 200 degree C until the crust is crispy brown and the filling is bubbling. Wait for 5 minutes and then serve hot as pies are best eaten fresh and crispy!

20160106_140035

13 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Pot Pie

  1. So happy to find someone who shares such amazing recepies..your food pics are so tempting it feels the food have something different in them. Keeping sharing n uploading:)

    Like

Would love to get your feedback!

